Hobbies

The last item entered into this blog is almost 2 months old. That’s unacceptable in my eyes as I wanted to strive to be much more active on this.

However, I am learning that hobbies can only be just that: hobbies.

If writing were my main source of income, it’d be a different story – but sadly, I’m grounded in a reality that has me working. A lot.

This isn’t a complaint – though in a way it is, right? We all wish we could spend more time on our hobbies, don’t we? Thankfully, my hobby is something that can travel with me, and through the use of word, I am able to share my travel experiences with the 7 of you that read this blog. Hi Mom.

But it’s not a complaint. I do love my job, albeit I struggle with interpreting some of the concepts so that they make sense to me, but I’ve learned to just roll with it and just keep with the flow and try to repeat the steps as best I can. At the end of the day, that’s all you can ask for out of a job, right? Something that presents new challenges daily. Otherwise, it’d be a simple burger flipping job where you clock in and stare at the clock waiting for time to pass so you can clock out again.

Just keep swinging away until time stops.

Just keep swinging away until time stops.

But as a hobby, I love to write. I miss writing. I wish I could take a month off and just do nothing but strategize on some of these plots and dialogue I hear in my head. Yes, I hear voices in my head – some of them say to kill, but mostly that’s because they’re characters in a story that are hell bent on vengeance. Writing has always been something that I’ve loved to do. I feel that I’m very good at crafting diction, more importantly understanding a character’s voice in my head for a scene that I’m writing out. But that’s my fiction writing, which I just haven’t been able to focus on enough to produce anything for this blog. There’s going to come a time where that’s not the case.

I can tell you that in the near future, there will be a continuation of The England Diaries…wait, is that what I named that? I need to rethink that. But there was a recent trip to St. Louis that involved super powder sugar-y doughnut desserts and that’s a great story waiting to be told.

002

Bandana’s Bar-B-Q Doughnut Hole Dessert

There’s a few opinion pieces that are coming. Some are going to be controversial, but I hope dear reader you can understand that I no longer can sit in silence about some of the things plaguing our world. And as much as that sounds like the hopeful setup to a Captain Planet reunion, sadly, it’s not. I read some of the editorials in my local newspaper and I just get so sickened by the hyperbole presented. Then again, my local newspaper is representative of its readers.

Until next time …

2 thoughts on “Hobbies

  1. If you can right the wrongs in our world as well you write this blog our world will surely be a better place. And don’t call me surely

Leave a Reply

