Unofficially Published Viewer Mail, Vol. 1

Every so often I get letters either via email or Facebook. So I’ve taken some of the few and compiled them with their answers.


Dear Unofficially Published,

What is up with the name? Isn’t it redundant if you publish on a blog? Isn’t it technically published?

-Confused

Dear Confused,

The name is a play on the idea of being an actually published author (i.e. magazine, newspaper, and book). Yes, I’ve had articles published before, but the name fits who I am and yes, it is technically officially unofficially published. Or at least WordPress official.


Unofficially Published,

What is the hardest thing you’ve ever had to give up? What is the hardest thing you’ve ever had to do?

-Unmotivated

Dear Motivated,

The hardest thing I’ve ever had to give up would be Entenmann’s Donuts as I trained for my first 5k. That’s a truth. As for the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do? To start running again. I ran that half marathon and lost all motivation after that.


To Unofficially Published,

You suck.

-Pointless

Dear Pointless,

Thank you.


Dear Ben,

Why do you not post your articles from The Hidden Triforce on your own blog? Aren’t they technically your property? Are you ever going to finish your Zelda paper that you started on in college?

-Looking for More Hyrule

Dear Looking for More Hyrule,

For starters, that is oddly specific. I have a few guesses to who you might be because only a select hand few knew of my Zelda memoir. Yes, I am working on that, and yes, that is actually for The Hidden Triforce.

As for why I don’t post those articles here, I like to keep the blogs I work on separate. It’s not any bit about being embarrassed about my work there – I link to the page as it is – it’s just that in my head my Hidden Triforce articles stay there and my Unofficially Published articles stay here. Thanks for being a fan of both sites though!

In the future, I will try and link to my articles over yonder.


Dear Unofficially Published,

Do you listen to music when you write? If so, what do you listen to?

-Wannabe Writer

Dear Wannabe Writer,

I do listen to music while I write! I feel that listening to music while writing can really help write out a scene (if I’m writing fiction), as well as keep a beat for me to type to and keep a great flow.

As for what I listen to, that’s a hard question to answer because it depends on what I’m working on. I’ll try to break it down:

Writing… Music Style…
Fantasy Fiction World of Warcraft, Lord of the Rings, Star Wars soundtracks
Crime/Mystery/Thriller James Bond movie soundtracks
Blogs Lately it’s been Danny Elfman music, but typically it’s Guster and She&Him

Hope this helps you out! I’m kind of a movie music nerd, but I was in band since 6th grade, so I come by it naturally.


 

Leave a Reply

