Do What You Love

There are times I’m often annoyed when people will send me messages like this on Facebook:

Hey – uh, why are you always sharing stuff about Zelda? Aren’t you a little old for that?

No.

I am old enough and wise enough to not judge someone else’s passions.

zelda

Is it childish to be a fan of a video game franchise that has been around as long as I have? I grew up with The Legend of Zelda and have always been a fan of the lore and fantasy of the game. And the music – oh my, I could listen to Koji Kondo’s music from this series for the rest of my life and not go insane.

I don’t understand how in a society that is really accepting what they consider “nerd culture” as mainstream culture. All it took was Joss Whedon and Christopher Nolan to bring some comic book characters to the big screen and everyone is a Marvel or DC know-it-all. Only you’re not. You’re a cinematic comic book know-it-all, sure. But don’t tell me that Spider-Man or Wolverine aren’t members of The Avengers – they were/are. Anyway, I digress.

They are.
They are.

The truth is we live in an instant technology age where we’re judged by sharing our thoughts and opinions. Check Facebook in a few months when the political stuff starts. I don’t judge my friends for what they want to. I might not understand their logic, but why condemn someone from enjoying themselves.

Video games are as much on the cutting edge of joining mainstream culture as comic book films are. The production value in a video game has continued to expand and improve with every hardware release.

So it’s never about being too old for something.

This mentality will always harken back to the late Don Fisher, founder of The Gap. Fisher is famously known for living by the philosophy “Do What You Love.”

DWYL

I write because I love writing.

I write about The Legend of Zelda because I love writing about, talking about, and playing The Legend of Zelda.

I sing because I love to sing.

I’m not a little old for anything.

I think you’re unwise to ask questions of judgment to someone else. If what you want to do is your passion and it’s not hurting yourself or anyone else emotionally or physically, then keep doing it. Live the life you want to live.

That being said, make sure you’re following The Hyrule Herald.

Don’t rain on someone’s parade because you’re not happy with what makes someone else happy.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

